The Miniature Pylon Racing Association of WA staged its annual State Title event on Saturday April 1st at KAMS.
Seven hardy souls presented for a good days racing.  We welcomed back Vince Belshaw for his first race in nearly 10 years and Frank Jensen for his first pylon racing competition ever.  Mark Giggins won the comp with very consistent flying.  Overall scores were:

1st     Mark Giggins         430

2nd    Joe Luxford           463

3rd    Troy Latto 472

4th     Ian Dixon              576               

5th     Vince Belshaw       650

6th     Tim Kullack           713

7th     Frank Jensen         751

The first four placegetters were all flying Quickie 500 models three Vipers and one Taipan.  The Q500s were turning better times than the more streamlined traditional Sport Pylon models.  In fact, the Q500s are now turning times around 105 seconds for the long course which is as fast as the best Sport Pylon models were doing last year.  In fact, both Joe Luxford and Troy Latto cracked the 110 second barrier for the first time in this comp.

The next comp is at KAMS on May 6th.  All pylon comps are on the first Saturday of each month at KAMS or Wanneroo this year.  If anyone is interested in trying their hand around the course, they are always welcome.  Just give Joe Luxford a call on 0419 517096


                           (Click for larger image)